Recurring Thought

Don’t expect things to slow down.

That has been the, often too late, response to my whiny, immature, impatient self-talk that occurs when life feels like too much. Which is almost all the time. Especially since all I’m focusing on is – when is ________ going to end?  when is ______ going to get easier?

Well, I’m pretty sure things will get easier and slow down when I choose to see the good along with the bad and when I let myself find peace in the struggle. I can’t let my happiness depend on things going my way. I have to take control.

Bartley is really sick again. We had a rough couple of days with him, wondering if he would be okay. The steriods helped, but soon enough, the skin infection that had been a secondary thing, became the primary concern. He has lost a lot of fur and has pustules and lesions. He’s more lethargic again. However, we had a promising visit to the dermatologist today, and I am hopeful that although it might be a slow journey, we’ll start to see some progress in the next few days.

This is what I’m talking about: I expected a rejeuvenating summer and life had other things in store for me. I’ve spent a lot of time whining about it in my mind, wondering if the school year is going to be just as overwhelming as the last three years, and I just can’t do that anymore.

I need to take control of my life and make it a life I want for myself, not just something I complain about.

Last week was a 19-point week. Not bad…. Considering:

  • Possible points = 35
  • Goal = 25
  • Best yet = 11

So last week was a record! 😀 As I go into this week, I have a new rule – no less than 2 points per day. I’m going to have to increase my expectations if I ever want to explore new points!

Today is a 4-point day. Also, I’ve made slow but steady progress that I feel good about on the bookshelf. I threw out so much stuff, have give-away items in my car, and learned that my next step is to do the same with the bookshelf in the living room.

Until next time. 😉

 

Leave a Reply

